VCP5 certification

Its Certification Time Again! This time I am upgrading my VCP4 to the VCP5 before the dreaded Mid-February date when we all have to re-take the class.
Below are the high-level sections and objectives according to VMware. My hope is to document my travels through these sections in order to better understand the technology.

Section 1 – Plan, Install, Configure and Upgrade vCenter Server and VMware ESXi

  • Install and Configure vCenter Server
  • Install and Configure VMware ESXi
  • Plan and Perform Upgrades of vCenter Server and VMware ESXi
  • Secure vCenter Server and ESXi
  • Identify vSphere Architecture and Solutions

Section 2 – Plan and Configure vSphere Networking

  • Configure vNetwork Standard Switches
  • Configure vNetwork Distributed Switches
  • Configure vSS and vDS Policies

Section 3 – Plan and Configure vSphere Storage

  • Configure Shared Storage for vSphere
  • Configure the Storage Virtual Appliance for vSphere
  • Create and Configure VMFS and NFS Datastores

Section 4 – Deploy and Administer Virtual Machines and vApps

  • Create and Deploy Virtual Machines
  • Create and Deploy vApps
  • Manage Virtual Machine Clones and Templates
  • Administer Virtual Machines and vApps

Section 5 – Establish and Maintain Service Levels

  • Create and Configure VMware Clusters
  • Plan and Implement VMware Fault Tolerance
  • Create and Administer Resource Pools
  • Migrate Virtual Machines
  • Backup and Restore Virtual Machines
  • Patch and Update ESXi and Virtual Machines

Section 6 – Perform Basic Troubleshooting

  • Perform Basic Troubleshooting for ESXi Hosts
  • Perform Basic vSphere Network Troubleshooting
  • Perform Basic vSphere Storage Troubleshooting
  • Perform Basic Troubleshooting for HA/DRS Clusters and vMotion/Storage vMotion

Section 7 – Monitor a vSphere Implementation and Manage vCenter Server Alarms

  • Monitor ESXi, vCenter Server and Virtual Machines

Leave a Reply